Sampler Albums

These are sampler albums that were intended for public consumption, not promos. Promos are on another page.

The Old Masters Box I Sampler

Unique material: a Lumpy Gravy excerpt with drums & bass overdubs by Chad Wackerman and Arthur Barrow

This was released when the first of the Old Masters compilation boxes came out, so people would be able to get an idea what it was about.

1. Later That Nite (03:00)
2. Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance (01:47)
3. What's the Ugliest Part of Your Body? (01:01)
4. Lumpy Gravy (Excerpt) (03:01)
5. You're Probably Wondering Why I'm Here
6. Any Way the Wind Blows

7. I'm Not Satisfied (03:07)
8. Status Back Baby (02:53)
9. Flower Punk (03:04)
10. Who Are the Brain Police? (03:16)
11. America Drinks & Goes Home (02:44)

The Lumpy Gravy excerpt includes, using the indexes introduced on the 1995 CD, "Almost Chinese", "Switching Girls" & "Oh No Again". Incredibly, it has Wackerman/Barrow drums & bass overdubs which are otherwise unheard-of (but Zappa did have plans to re-release Lumpy Gravy in overdubbed and remixed form). "Any Way the Wind Blows" & "Im Not Satisfied" are the Cruising with Ruben & the Jets versions. They, as well as the Absolutely Free tracks are assumed to be the Old Masters / CD versions, but as the Lumpy Gravy excerpt proves, we can't assume they are, and the jury is still out. David Goodwin casts some doubt on the Freak Out! tracks:

I just got the Old Masters box 1 sampler. It came with the Barfko-Swill catalog that was also included in the Thing-Fish box. The weird thing is that the front cover lists the songs, but the record has the sides mis-labeled.

I never realized how crappily the We're Only In It for the Money remix was transferred to CD ... it sounds MUCH better here. The Lumpy Gravy exerpt is horrible ... Zappa HAD to nix it, as the drums manage to blend in even LESS than on We're Only In It for the Money. [Actually, Bob Stone, his sound man, talked him out of releasing the whole album like that - Ed.] One question I have, though ... what's with the Freak Out! tracks? Are these the original vinyl mixes? They sound NOTHING like the CD mixes ...

From Steven C Hollifield:

My cover at the top says it's a promo copy. The thing is that the info on the tracks on the cover is different than on the record labels ... the side one track listing on the cover is side two on the LP label and vice versa. Top of cover says:

"For Promotion Only"
"Not For Sale"

Back of cover reads:


Dear Program Director Person:
We are pleased to announce the long-awaited release of THE OLD MASTERS, BOX ONE. These ORIGINAL EARLY MOTHERS OF INVENTION MASTERS which have been digitally refurbished & spiffed up, are available by Mail Order exclusively through BARFKO-SWILL. The seven-record set box contains:

"THE MYSTERY DISC" (rare pre-mothers unreleased material)

If you would like information about other current Projects, Tour schedules, Records and Recording, Music Parts, Music Scores, Videos, Books, T-shirts, Posters, Rare Records, etc. , please write us at BARFKO-SWILL. Send a self-addressed stamped envelope and we will send you our Cattle-log by return mail. Or you can call us at 818-PUMPKIN and order by phone. (We accept MasterCard and Visa).

If you or your friends have any questions about Frank Zappa's Music, Technical Hot Poop, or fun stuff in general, write to us. We read your letters. We appreciate your comments and your interest,



Additional informants: khamarm1952 (Lumpy Gravy excerpt overdubs), Román García Albertos

The Old Masters Box II Sampler

Unique material: none

1. Peaches en Regalia [Hot Rats version] (03:39)
2. Rudy Wants To Buy Yez a Drink (02:46)
3. Directly From My Heart To You (05:21)
4. Mr. Green Genes (03:13)
5. Lecture / Handsome Cabin Boy [traditional] [from the Mystery Disc] (02:05)

6. The Story of Willie the Pimp [from the Mystery Disc] (01:35)
7. Willie the Pimp (09:24)
8. The Air (03:01)
9. Would You Go All the Way? (2:29)

The cover is black with a Donald Roller Wilson painting, and the "liner notes" on a small white sticker on the back.

Informants: Svend Rosendahl

You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore Sampler

  • LP (Barking Pumpkin D1 74213 in the US, Zappa Records ZAP 7 in the UK, June 1988)
  • CD (Zappa Records CDZAP 7, June 1988)
  • cassette (Barking Pumpkin 74213 in the US, Zappa Records TZAPPA7 in the UK)

Unique material: A different edit of "Dickie's Such an Asshole", and a different recording of the last part of "Cosmik Debris".

When the Stage series took off, Zappa made an album with sample songs, which looked just like Volume 1, but it said "SAMPLER" instead of "VOLUME 1" on the cover.

1. Plastic People
2. The Torture Never Stops
3. Montana (Whipping Floss)
4. The Evil Prince
5. You Call That Music?
6. Sharleena
7. Nanook Rubs It
8. The Florida Airport Tape
9. Once Upon a Time
10. King Kong
11. Dickie's Such an Asshole [unique version]
12. Cosmic [sic] Debris [unique version]

Unique Versions of  "Dickie's Such an Asshole" and "Cosmic [sic] Debris"

It has an otherwise unavailable version of "Dickie's Such an Asshole". It doesn't have the introduction by Marty Perellis, it doesn't have the ending sing-along, and the middle section is edited differently:

Only on the sampler:

Loaned a couple of Bebe Rebozo,
Loaned a couple of Pat Boone,
Loaned a couple to Ronald Reagan,
And loaned a couple to the new vice-president,
He said he'd be on my side,
He said he'd stand by me through thick 'n' thin ...
Until they impeach me,
And he said he'd never let 'em,
He said he'd never let 'em do it -
I said: "I believe you",
I said: "Hold on",
I said: "I never cheated on ya,
I never lied" ...

Only on volume 3:

Was it?

Also, the end of "Cosmic [sic] Debris" is from a different show. The edit occurs somewhere around "Don't screech it, don't screech it, boy, on me".

Liner Notes

"You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore in its complete form has a playing time of more than 13 hours. It was designed primarily for release on CD (six double sets, with each disc including more than one hour of material).

From the beginning we have been asking ourselves: "How will we ever cram all this stuff into a normal vinyl release?" The only practical answer seems to be this double LP sampler.

For those of you who don't own CD players yet, this release provides an 80 minutes sneak preview of material from Volume One, as well as future You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore releases.

We hope you enjoy it, and that it provides some incentive for the acquisition of a CD player, and that eventually you get to hear the whole collection in the medium for which it was created."

Additional informants: Mikael Agardsson

Sonic Winter

This Australian 16-track Ryko sampler from 1997 was available free with the purchase of one of 16 selected Ryko CDs in Australia. Zappa is represented by "Valley Girl".

Informant: Tony Burke

home - vinyl vs CDs - weirdo discography - bootlegs - misc - hot lynx - e-mail us at zappa dot patio at gmail dot com 2006-04-22 20:02

Search WWW Search all of

DISCLAIMER: people quoted may not share webmaster's opinions (on James Brown); information culled from many sources with no guarantees; site may look bad in other than latest Internet Explorer for Windows (I wish I were skilled enough to change this last one).