Stereo Stones?
A few notes. An 'ABKCO CD' is one that was available in the US in 1986 and is now available worldwide. Numbers refer to US releases - foreign ones may differ. London CDs that start with 'POCD' are from Japan. London CDs with '820' are from Germany/Europe.

Stereo tracks are in red.

Hot Rocks 1

  • Format: CD
  • Catalog #: London POCD-1927
  • Catalog #: London 820 141-2
  • Tracklist:
    1. Time Is On My Side
    2. Heart of Stone
    3. Play With Fire
    4. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
    5. As Tears Go By
    6. Get Off Of My Cloud
    7. Mother's Little Helper
    8. 19th Nervous Breakdown
    9. Paint It Black
    10. Under My Thumb
    11. Ruby Tuesday
    12. Let's Spend The Night Together
  • notes: As noted, As Tears Go By and 19th Nervous Breakdown are both mono.

    Notes on fade ups: The Japanese CD does not have fade ups on any songs. The first German version does not have fade ups, while later German versions do. The "good" version has "820 141-2 02" on the inner ring of the CD, while the "bad" version has "820 141-2 03". Also, the "good" version has the "digitally remastered" banner in the upper left side of the cover, while the "bad" version does not. Finally, the "bad" version has "BA 900" before the UPC code, while the "good" version does not.

    The faded tracks are: Play With Fire, Satisfaction, Under My Thumb, Let's Spend The Night Together. In addition, Get Off Of My Cloud is mastered at a very low volume on the "bad" CD.

No. 2

  • Format: CD
  • Catalog #: London POCD-1913
  • Tracklist:
    1. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
    2. Down Home Girl
    3. You Can't Catch Me
    4. Time Is On My Side
    5. What A Shame
    6. Grown Up Wrong
    7. Down The Road Apiece
    8. Under The Boardwalk
    9. I Can't Be Satisfied
    10. Pain In My Heart
    11. Off The Hook
    12. Suzie Q
  • notes: Includes the long version of "Everybody".


  • Format: CD
  • Catalog #: ABKCO 74202/CD 420
  • Catalog #: London POCD-1914
  • Tracklist:
    1. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
    2. Down Home Girl
    3. You Can't Catch Me
    4. Heart Of Stone
    5. What A Shame
    6. Mona (I Need You Baby)
    7. Down The Road Apiece
    8. Off The Hook
    9. Pain In My Heart
    10. Oh Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin')
    11. Little Red Rooster
    12. Surprise, Surprise
  • notes: The long version of "Everybody" is on the US CD. The Jap CD has the short version of the song. Both versions are in mono. It is believed that the US CD actually has a bit better sound on What A Shame and Down The Road Apiece.


  • Format: CD
  • Catalog #: London POCD-1917
  • Catalog #: London 820 050-2
  • Tracklist:
    1. Mother's Little Helper
    2. Stupid Girl
    3. Lady Jane
    4. Under My Thumb
    5. Doncha Bother Me
    6. Goin' Home
    7. Flight 505
    8. High And Dry
    9. Out of Time
    10. It's Not Easy
    11. I Am Waiting
    12. Take It Or Leave It
    13. Think
    14. What To Do
  • notes: Unlike the American version, this entire CD is in true stereo. Like the original LP issue, it does not have Paint It Black (like the US release) but it does have the long (5:36) version of Out Of Time.